The “Wild Man” sets slide job for third win in a row!

Print this page
June 10, 2017  |  by Ruben Mireles

Kyle McCutcheon (center) won the Lucas Oil POWRi 305 Sprint Car feature.
Kyle McCutcheon (center) won the Lucas Oil POWRi 305 Sprint Car feature.

It started off with slow heats, but as history shows at the Southern New Mexico Speedway it will start slow and end with the fastest action in the southwest! The Lucas Oil POWRi 305 Sprint Cars returned with the Claimers, The Body Works Super Trucks, Mini Sprints, and the Jack Key Auto Group USRA X-Mods.

Twelve Claimers checked in for the twelve lap main event. Will McCoy lead the first two laps until flames erupted under the hood on lap three. The red flag would fly, and on the restart Brian Christie took the lead. Larry Maag chased him down, but it wasn't enough as he pulled into the infield after mechanical issues for Maag. Brian Christie would run away to win the Claimers main event and worked to almost a half track lead with one to go and crashed into the turn four tire coming to the checker flag!! Christie would not get it back together and Alfred Hicks who was barley working out of turn two would win the main event!!!

Alfred Hicks won the Claimer feature.

Christy Barnett shared the front row with Odie Black in tonight's twenty lap Super Truck main event. At the green flag Barnett was never seen again as she dominated the caution free twenty laps. The race was for second between Mike Garcia, Walton Kyle Sr, and Lloyd Duffey. Barnett would dominate the main event with Mike Garcia winning the battle over Lloyd Duffey, and Walton Kyle Sr. Sherman Barnett would round out the top five.

Christy Barnett won the Body Works Super Truck feature.

Five Mini Sprints checked in for battle, and only four started the feature as the 11G of Gutierrez had electrical issues. Sal Gomez had the front row with Tyler James Congleton. At the green Gomez lead the opening lap until the 4s of Spencer Hill joined the party. Hill getting back behind the wheel of his Mini Sprint for the first time since the fall of 2016. Spencer Hill would break into a different zip code as he would park it in victory lane.

Spencer Hill won the Mini-Sprint feature.

The Jack Key Auto Group USRA X-Mods brought the best car count tonight as twenty-two USRA X-Mods checked in for battle. Sean Bowmen started on the pole with Noah Hollingshead on the outside. At the green Hollingshead didn't play around and lead the first lap. A caution flew for John Carney Sr flying off of turns three and four. On the restart the Hollingshead lead again with Dickie Gorham working his way to runner-up. On lap four Gorham battled Hollingshead for the lead. The fifth go around was all owned by Dickie Gorham. Gorham put his 43 years of racing experience to work as he took off! Melissa Gorham worked her way to second with Jimmy Ray trying to get around her but couldn't manage to get around her. Dickie Gorham would run away to win the Jack Key Auto Group USRA X-Mods!

Dickie Gorham won the Jack Key Auto Group USRA X-Mod feature.

Seventeen Lucas Oil POWRi 305 Sprint Cars checked in for an exciting finish. It was a good race before the cars got pushed onto the race track as looking at the line up it was a thriller. Kyle McCutcheon and Lorne Wofford set your front row! At the green McCutcheon was good until turns one and two as Lorne Wofford was way smoother! The 18 would lead the pack with Kyle McCutcheon running second. Lap six lapped traffic came into play, but didn't bother Wofford. Royal Jones had third on lock down with Jett Carney and Art Quijano battling for fourth behind Jones. Art Quijano would lose power steering and called the quits. Carney would then secure fourth. Lap seven a caution flew for Tyler Jackson spinning in turn four right as your leaders were coming! Everyone was on the binders and would avoid Jackson. At the green it was still Lorne Wofford showing the way. That restart was great for Joshua Shipley as he jumped to fourth! A little later on lap nine a caution flew again, and this time for Spencer Hill over turn three. At the restart the top groove came along. Lap fifteen of the twenty-five lap main called for heavy lapped traffic. Wofford was running the top with McCutcheon trying to get around on the bottom. Wes Wofford showed up to the party and got around Joshua Shipley for fourth. Royal Jones was next on his list and got him on lap twenty. With three laps to go McCutcheon cleaned the top and it finally came in and found himself faster then Wofford!! With two laps to go the gap got smaller, and with one lap to go we thought time ran out, but "The Wild Man" Kyle McCutcheon throw his #5 down low in three and four and came out with an outstanding slide job to beat Lorne Wofford at the line!!!! The fans went nuts!! Kyle McCutcheon will be the second driver to go BACK TO BACK TO BACK!!!!

Kyle McCutcheon won the Lucas Oil POWRi 305 Sprint Car feature.