Southern New Mexico Speedway kicks off 2017

Print this page
April 29, 2017  |  by Ruben Mireles

Lorne Wofford won the Lucas Oil POWRi WAR Sprint Car Series feature.
Lorne Wofford won the Lucas Oil POWRi WAR Sprint Car Series feature.

A cold Saturday night didn't stop the fans from coming out to watch the 2017 season opener as we go back to the good old Saturday night racing at the Southern New Mexico Speedway. Opening night called for an outstanding field of Lucas Oil POWRi WAR Sprint Cars. Body Works Super Trucks, Jack Key Auto Group USRA X-Mods, Claimers and Sun Valley Hardware USRA Stock Cars joined in on the action.

Fifteen of the Body Works Super Trucks checked in, calling for a 15-lap main event. Walton Kyle Sr. and Mike Garcia who both won their heat race's started on the front row. At the start it was a bad one, so drivers would go to a second start and it was better as the 6 of Kyle took off with Dave Deetz entertaining Garcia. Deetz and Garcia battled for runner up while Kyle ran away. Dennis McMaster and Jaime Bejarano would battle for fourth. Two good battles taking place in the top five allowed Kyle to work into a different zip code. Lap seven called for lapped traffic. Kyle passed Jarrett Hamilton and wasted no time. McMaster who was coming to the front then started puffing smoke from the hood. His engine would expire and end his night four laps why. A lap later another top five competitor Deetz would pull off for mechanical problems. Garcia would run second, followed by Bejarano. With Deetz and McMaster out of the race Devon Smith and Kenny Alons inherited a top five. They would battle side by side for fourth. That battle was the last one left on the track as Kyle rushed to the checker flag and would win the Body Works Super Trucks main event!

Walton Kyle Sr. won the Body Works Super Truck feature.

Thirteen Jack Key Auto Group USRA X-Mods called for a good 15-lap main event. A father-son front row started the main. Dickie Gorham and Gregory Gorham battled for the lead on the opening lap as Dickie Gorham would lead the opening lap. The next go around Gregory Gorham found his way around his dad. The field went three wide for the top five. With Noah Hollingshead battling Dickie Gorham for runner-up, Gregory Gorham was gone! The top five battled and battled with Justin Allen showing up to the party. Allen would then battle Hollingshead and Dickie Gorham. Allen on lap six was third, and Allen and Dickie Gorham cut the lead Gregory Gorham had. On lap eight Allen would pass the Gorhams for the lead and took off! Allen would run away to the checker and win the Jack Key Auto Group USRA X-Mods!

Justin Allen won the Jack Key Auto Group USRA X-Mod feature.

Six Claimers showed up for battle and it was a little entertaining 10-lap main event. Mark Smith started on the pole with Dawson Manicki to his outside. Manicki battled for the lead on the opening lap, but Smith didn't surrender the lead that easy. Smith would lead it from flag to flag for his first time out and winning!

Mark Smith won the Claimer feature.

Jaime Torres picks up another main event win, and starts the regular weekly racing series with a bang. Torres started outside row one and took off at the start. Pete Vargas worked his way to runner-up quickly with Nathan Smith and Jack Skillin battling for third. Smith would win the battle, and started to rush the triple seven for second. No cautions allowed Torres to run away though, as they battled behind them. Torres would win the Sun Valley Hardware USRA Stock Car main event with Vargas second and Smith third.

Jaime Torres won the sun Valley Hardware USRA Stock Car feature.

Felt like it was full moon type of night, but no full moon in site for the Lucas Oil POWRi WAR Sprint Cars. Twenty-four Sprint Cars checked in for battle which brought the energy to the table in tonight's season opener. Lorne Wofford won the American Linen Uniform & Supply Dash for Cash and started on the pole with Richard Wilbee on the outside of him in row one. Wofford took off at the start and lead the opening three laps with Cesar Fuentes quickly jumping to second. Jason Grady would also jump to third quick behind Fuentes. A caution flew right after lap three for Bob Faulhaber in turn two. Lorne Wofford took off on the restart with Fuentes following. Four laps later Cesar Fuentes would go sideways in turns three and four forcing a yellow. On the restart Don Grable went underneath Rick Ziehl and made contact with Rick forcing Grable to go upside down. Lorne Wofford lead another two laps until Brady Labree spun in one and two and Showers slammed him. At the restart Wofford led another two laps with Wes Wofford creeping into the top five. A caution flew again on lap 11 as Joseph Hernandez found himself over turn two. A three-lap green flag run followed with Kyle McCutcheon and Wes Wofford battling for third. Robert Herrera would then draw a yellow as he looped it in turn two. Grady applied pressure making it a side-by-side battle for the lead with Lorne Wofford, but on the last restart Lorne Wofford took off and put good breathing space between him and Grady. Lorne Wofford would run away to win the 2017 Weekly Racing Series season opener over Grady, Wes Wofford, McCutcheon and Royal Jones fifth after starting 19th.