Grable, Gorham, Smith, Kyle win at Southern New Mexico Speedway

Print this page
September 30, 2016  |  by Ruben Mireles

Don Grable won the Border International 305 Winged Sprint Car feature.
Don Grable won the Border International 305 Winged Sprint Car feature.

Mother Nature attacked the Southern New Mexico Speedway during week, but to make an excellent track! Heat races had the fans going wild with the three wide battling for the lead, and how the track continuously got better. It was the final night for the Border International Truck 305 Winged Sprint Cars in 2016, along with the Peter Piper Pizza Super Trucks, and the Claimers. With three new track champions after tonight, the Jack Key Auto Group USRA X-Mods just got a whole lot more interesting in the points going into the 17th Annual S&S Fishing & Rental/ Barnett-Harley Davidson Fall Nationals presented by G3 Fitness and MSD.

A clean run for Walton Kyle Sr tonight in the Peter Piper Pizza Super Truck division as he would lead flag to flag in tonight’s twenty lap feature. Walton Kyle Sr started outside row one, and got the lead early. Russell Allen made some noise, but not enough to get around the six machine. On lap eleven a caution flew for Lloyd Duffy and Jaime Bejarano going around after an incident with a lap truck and Mike Garcia in turn four that caused a chain reaction. On the restart Russell Allen couldn’t get around Walton Kyle Sr. With a clean nine lap run the finish Walton Kyle Sr would win the final race of the 2016 season. Brian Kleine who turned his season around picks up the 2016 Peter Piper Pizza Super Truck Southern New Mexico Speedway track championship.

Walton Kyle Sr. won the Peter Piper Pizza Super Truck feature.

Claimer action called for three wide racing all night. Devan Smith, Ben Ives and Will McCoy made it an interesting battle for the lead in the opening rounds of tonight’s Claimer main event. Smith, Ives, and McCoy were so close you could cover them with a shop rag. After an interesting nine lap opener a caution would fly for Ben Ives! Ben spun in turn one and would go to the back. On the restart Devan Smith was gone. Leo Lamb would battle his way to second with Ben Ives coming back to third. Devan Smith picked up his second win of 2016 at the Southern New Mexico Speedway. Shane McNutt on the other hand is your 2016 Claimer track champion! At only fourteen years old, he’s off to a great start.

Devan Smith won the claimer feature.

Jack Key Auto Group spiced the USRA X-Mods up by making it $500.00 to win tonight. Twenty-nine Jack Key Auto Group USRA X-Mods made the call, which gave the fans some extra racing. A B-Main took place with thirteen drivers trying to punch their ticket into the main by being in the top eight. Justin Allen with no trouble would win the qualifier. In the main event Gregory Gorham and Todd Budlong started up front of a twenty-four car field. Gregory Gorham looked like Bolt from the Olympics out there tonight. That Baxter Built #93 machine was gone! Three laps in the main a red flag flew as Rick Hall went upside down in turn four. Rick hall was okay, and went pit side. Right before the restart the 15x machine came back onto the race track! Fans were shocked, and gave a loud welcome back for Hall. A seven lap green flag run took place after the restart when Billy Roy Harris caught your leader! Gregory Gorham had a hand full of Billy Roy Harris, and to add to the excitement LAP TRAFFIC was involved one lap later. Gregory Gorham had a lot going on, until he was lapping the 18jr of Ricardo Olague Jr and Ricardo SPUN HIM OUT! This would draw the caution for Gregory Gorham stopped in four who is trying to win a championship! Officials would black flag the 18jr. The rule is if the official black flags the driver who caused the caution the driver involved gets his/ hers spot back. With that Gregory Gorham got saved and got the lead back. Believe it or not, but the Jack Key Auto Group USRA X-Mods went all the way caution free after that. The X-Mods took it home in the final thirteen laps. Billy Roy Harris would settle for second, and Gregory Gorham banks $500.00. With Jimmy Ray finishing 4th the points battle is now Jimmy Ray leading it going into the Fall Nationals by TWO POINTS!! Gregory Gorham and Jimmy Ray will have a three-day showdown for the 2016 track championship in four weeks.

Gregory Gorham won the Jack Key Auto Group USRA X-Mod feature.

Twenty-one Border International Truck 305 Winged Sprint Cars checked in for battle and Don Grable was the happiest. Picked up his 10th main event win in the Land of Enchantment. Five in Albuquerque, and his 5th tonight here at the Southern New Mexico Speedway. It was a flag to flag show for Don Grable. Four cautions in the twenty-five lap main event didn’t do any harm. Lorne Wofford who started third was trying to make it happen on the top, but couldn’t get it to work to perfection. Lorne Wofford would finish second, with third generation Carney ending on a good note in 2016. Jett Carney adds a podium finish to his resume as he would end 2016 with a third place. Don Grable who was on the road the past two years with the ASCS National Tour as a crew chief then came back home this year with a ride offer. Butch Box owner of the #40x machine based out of Albuquerque put Grable in the seat. Butch Box a happy, happy car owner this year as Grable would pick up eleven wins with the team, (Albuquerque- 5, Southern New Mexico Speedway- 5, Western Tech Speedway Park- 1) and the 2016 Border International Truck Series championship, and the Southern New Mexico Speedway 2016 track championship.