Wilbee ends nine-year winless streak at Southern New Mexico Speedway

Print this page
September 24, 2016  |  by Ruben Mireles Jr.

Richard Wilbee won the Border International 305 Winged Sprint Car feature.
Richard Wilbee won the Border International 305 Winged Sprint Car feature.

The Border International Truck 305 Winged Sprint Cars invaded the Southern New Mexico Speedway with the Jack Key Auto Group USRA X-Mods, Sun Valley Hardware USRA Street Stocks, Casa Nissan Legends of the Southwest, and the Peter Piper Pizza Super Trucks.

Fans loved the energy the Peter Piper Pizza Super Trucks brought to the track with their three wide, four wide racing action early in the main. Josh Hammond was a heavy hitter at the start until that 30 machine got loose. Russell Allen would find fresh air up front quickly, till Brian Kleine battled his way to the top spot taking the lead on lap four. Mike Garcia would draw a caution on lap five. On that restart Christy Barnett was moving through the field quickly after starting last on the line up in twelfth. A caution would fly again on lap twelve for Walton Kyle Sr and Sherman Barnett getting into each other in turns one and two. On that restart Brian Kleine had company. That Barnett Harley Davidson #44 machine was rolling! Barnett would fight on the bottom and the top, but couldn’t score. She tried multiple lines and couldn’t get passed Kleine. On corner entry Christy Barnett had it won, but that UNO machine was a rocket on straightaways. Brian Kleine would hold Barnett off for the win in the Peter Piper Pizza Super Truck division.

Dylan Harris is a big shot in Legend racing all around the country. Harris has gone to North Carolina to compete in nationals and placed fourth. Dylan Harris is a state champion and more. Dylan Harris proved he still has it in him tonight. Mike Zuloaga pulled out the spare car to race his red Casa Nissan #902 machine, and let Dylan Harris race his Southern New Mexico Speedway car. Harris started tenth and took the lead from Jesse Esquivel on lap four after three cautions, and a two lap green flag run. Dylan would lead a pack of racers that were going three wide and even four wide for positions behind him. Jesse Esquivel, Alex Esquivel, Gunner Harris, Steven Arellano, and Mike Zuloaga all battled like cats and dogs behind him. Three more cautions would fly. Officials would cut five laps from the twenty- five lapper. Dave Smith and Lucas Ward got into in on the front straightaway drawing another caution, but that wouldn’t stop Dylan Harris. Within the closing laps of this main event Cooper Guffey who started dead last in twenty- second found himself in the runner-up spot. He passed twenty- one cars, and fell short by one at the end. Dylan Harris would pick up yet another Legend main event win.

Dylan Harris won the Casa Nissan Legends Car feature.

“Fireball” Donovan Flores found himself victorious in the Sun Valley Hardware USRA Street Stock main event. Nathan Smith would lead the opening three circuits until Martin Robinson would draw a yellow for spinning out in turns one and two. On the restart Flores took the spotlight. Martin Robinson, and Victor Colorbio exchanged some paint on the track, and officials stopped it quick. After that a caution flew bringing us to a green, white, checker finale. Donovan Flores had no trouble as he was untouchable tonight in that Dynamic Racing Engines #07.

Only five cautions in tonight’s twenty- five lap main event for the Jack Key Auto Group USRA X-Mods. Twenty- one cars showed up for action, and it was great one. Christy Barnett lead the opening rounds until she lost it in turn two. Rick Hall would inherit the lead, until Dickie Gorham saw the door open and took it. Dickie would lead the X-Mods to the end of the pack. Lap traffic became a factor until a caution flew for Rick Hall looping it in turns one and two. On the restart Dickie pulled away to a comfy lead. Three cautions would fly later bringing us to another green, white, checker finish. Dickie Gorham would snap his winless streak also in the USRA X-Mod main event.

Dickie Gorham won the Jack Key Auto Group USRA X-Mod feature.

Sixteen Border International Truck 305 Winged Sprint Cars on hand tonight calling for twenty- five laps. Richard Wilbee started on the pole position with Art Quijano starting outside pole. At the green flag Derek DeMartino jumped to second quickly with Wilbee leading. Brady Labree and Don Grable battled in the top five for a few laps until Kyle McCutcheon showed up to the party. The “Wildman” Kyle McCutcheon would mark his territory on the top and found something good while everyone was running the bottom. In the closing laps Kyle was on a rail! Wilbee had a good gap on Derek DeMartino until Kyle McCutcheon passed for second. On the final lap Kyle caught Wilbee, but Wilbee heard him and stayed smart. Richard Wilbee would stay on the bottom and approach lap traffic coming to the checker and would win by a couple feet at the end. Richard Wilbee a Southern New Mexico Speedway track champion in 2000 in Non-Wing Sprint Cars is back! Tonight he snaps a nine year losing streak.

Richard Wilbee won the Border International 305 Winged Sprint Car feature.